• Follow On Twitter

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other subscribers

That Tastes Funny

If reincarnation exists, I think I want to come back as a dog. Our beagle lives a pretty cushy life, but more importantly, she maintains an attitude that I could learn from.

Sonya spends most of her time on this pillow or on an identical one downstairs. She gleefully accepts any attention we throw in her direction, her food dish is filled twice a day, and her pleadingly-sweet expression guarantees lots of treats. She plays hard and then takes long naps. Oh, and she is always happy to see anyone who walks through the door.

O.K. so maybe I don’t need all the treats, but my family would attest that my attitude could use a little adjustment from time to time.

Last night I threw a big fit – no need to go into details, but it was ugly, and nothing that models the kind of behavior I would like my kid to exhibit. I got through most of it without sucking my family into the dark hole, but they definitely felt the pain.

Russell retreated to bed earlier than usual after I apologized, but I still knew I was going to have to do something nice for him to help smooth things over.

As I was logging off my Facebook account an IM message popped up from Russell. That is the only way he wants to communicate on Facebook. He doesn’t creep around my page, and he thinks I don’t creep on his. Anyway, the message just said, “Pure evil is spewing out of your mouth.”

I burst out laughing. He was so right. Thankfully, I got my head back together, and the good news about my little tantrum was that food did not enter the picture – woo hoo for me. But I can’t help but wonder if I carried around my dog’s attitude, my whole evening would have been quite different…comfortable, happy and content. I could use some of that, but would I have to start licking my butt to get it?

Leave a comment