• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Frosty Moments

“Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble or hard work. It means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart.” – Unknown

New year. Fresh starts. Bright outlook.

Run? Hide? Move Forward? Embrace the squirm?

I would really love some unseasonably warm weather right now, but not for the reasons that come to mind. Sure leaving the hats and gloves at home in favor of some sunshine would be nice, but I use the outdoors as a place to meditate. Well, actually I like talk to myself as I walk.

People must pass me in their cars and think I am a total nut job as they see me chattering away. My only hope is they think I’m singing along to the music on my iPhone. Sometimes I press pause on my conversation long enough for the cars to go by, but if I’m in the middle of a deep thought…

There is something in the rhythmic act of walking that tunes me into me, which provides clarity. I don’t need temperatures to rise to 70˚F to take advantage of situation. I just want it to be warm enough that when I suck air into my nasal cavity it doesn’t feel like I’m freeze drying individual brain cells. Stepping into my own personalized cryogenic laboratory is not what I’m going for.

I guess it is time to pull out the long johns and ski mask because I can’t hunker down in my house for the next two months, I’ll be carted off for other reasons if I try to wait the cold weather out.

When I’m outdoors, it’s as if I call upon my very own therapist to join me on my walk. I begin my outing with one simple positive thought and just repeat it along the way. I free myself from the distractions plaguing me at home or work, and my mind opens to the messages I’m supposed to receive.

This morning looks promising as I peer out the window. When I first woke it was still dark – I hate that by the way. The sky is now a powdery blue with a touch of pink along the horizon. From inside as I sit in my shearling slippers I can almost make myself believe that today would make for a great day for a snowball fight.

Maybe I don’t have the stamina for that, but I at least need to get out and inhale some fresh air. I’m sure my brain won’t freeze and I might just find the peace in which I’m searching.

2 Responses

  1. I LOVE “Embrace the squirm”!!! Makes it to my list of favorite mantras!

    Have the veggies, haven’t cooked yet. Went to a New Year’s party last night and ate 1/3 of the cake, (several “just a little more” helpings).
    Luckily, I dusted off the Nordic track. Found some rockin’ music and planned 20 minutes but stopped closer to 45 because it was fun!

    MA

  2. I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one who can nibble away large portions of sugar…it’s a tough cycle to break. I did find little dark chocolate truffles – at Aldis of all places that satisfy the sweet tooth without sending me over the edge.

    Have fun on the Nordic Track!

Leave a Reply

