• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Thoughts To Ponder

What would happen if I totally eliminated the white sweet stuff?

I might have just emerged from a sugar-induced coma. The details are still a little foggy, but I think I’ll make a full recovery.

I think it began with cheesecake – on Christmas Eve something possessed me to make one from scratch. I used the defense that it would be a gift to my family. At that point, I was still under the delusion that I could handle a small treat – even though this 9-inch piece of decadence ended up occupying a house with only three people.

Lyle’s family was supposed to come over, but the threat of bad weather scared his dad away. It was a good choice considering we have all been concerned about his driving on dry pavement so I certainly respected the decision.

I admit that a little excitement pulsed through my body at the idea of the three of us being all alone in our house on Christmas. It looked like a good recipe for Jammie Day – with a long line up of Christmas DVDs. I couldn’t wait to plug in Will Ferrell in Elf.

News changed dramatically when Lyle announced at 1 p.m. Christmas Day that he thought we should venture out to see his dad since the bad weather passed without incident. What? I was just getting ready to make the popcorn and Will was waiting.

It was a relatively quick trip so I was amazed at how much damage I could do in 24 hours; years of practice left me primed and ready.

Before we headed home yesterday, we stopped at a home-style Mennonite restaurant up north, which didn’t resemble any cooking in my home. As I forced myself to be nice since it doesn’t come naturally, I dumped fried chicken and bread pudding down my throat.

About half way through lunch, a piece of broasted chicken got lodged in my throat and I literally started choking. I couldn’t even quietly excuse myself because I thought I might need intervention. I really didn’t want to pass out and die on the floor of a public bathroom – especially before dessert. Everything resolved just shy of the Heimlich maneuver, and I proceeded to the sweet’s table choosing to ignore the sign.

I thought momentarily about exercise when we arrived home until I collapsed on our Tempur-Pedic bed. I don’t care how advanced the memory foam is on that thing, my body is not designed to remain supine for 12 hours or more.

I woke up feeling like my lower five vertebrae exploded embedding shreds of shrapnel all over my body. It took forty minutes and two cups of coffee to work everything loose, and I’m sure the previous two days of diving into a sugar bowl only complicated matters.

My plan today included exercise and lots of leafy green veggies, and must get my emotional and physical surroundings back in order. I do not need to flail around in a place I just left a month ago.

The brief detour reminds me that diligence is paramount. I don’t know why that should be so difficult, but I also wonder if sugar is complicating things. Should I eliminate the white stuff from my diet all together for a while? Is that crazy talk or the beginning of a really good New Years’ Resolution?

Leave a Reply

