• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Brain Fade

The fruit is all neatly in place, but where did the candy go?

I didn’t follow my own advice today. I left the house woefully under prepared. I packed what I thought would be plenty of snacks to get me through the afternoon, but I ended up being out longer than I anticipated.

I’ve been sailing through this stupid holiday feeding frenzy without succumbing to all the food that surrounds me, up until tonight.

I bypassed the cookies at the office and most of the nuts. I snagged a piece, well two, of some kind of dessert bread that someone gave me the other day as a gift. I should have never taken it home, but the loaf made it into the house under the pretense that the men in my family might enjoy a treat. Whatever.

I ended cramming the rest of it down the trash can far below the coffee grounds so I wouldn’t pull a George Castanza from Seinfield and pull it out of the garbage to shove down my throat when no one was looking. I actually felt pretty good about that indiscretion because it served as a great reminder that I have to plan for the unexpected.

I make crappy food choices when I’m hungry, especially this time of year because temptation is literally every place I look. All was good early on. I met a friend for lunch and chose wisely – at Der Dutchman, no less. For those unfamiliar, it is an Amish restaurant. Almost every item is either fried in lard or butter, smothered in gravy or dripping with maple-flavored icing. I opted for a bowl of soup, salad and a whole wheat roll – good girl.

My friend and I ended up chatting until the early dinner crowd arrived before we said our goodbyes. I walked in the house and was greeted to gift basket from a vendor at work, which was a big basket of fruit, chocolate caramel corn and caramel pecan truffles. Wanna take a guess at what I went for?

The good news is that Russell had been patiently waiting until I got home so he could help minimize the damage. Thank God for teenage boys. I cannot believe how much food that kid can put away, and he maintains the metabolism to accommodate the intake.

I sat down here to regroup. I also have realized that when I eat sugar, my heart races and I get very jittery. I thought it was all in my head, but I took my pulse, and it really was elevated. Has that ever happened to any of you? I wish I could say that this was the first time I noticed that this happened. You think I would steer clear of it since I know that it causes me grief. Why in the world can’t (or won’t) I cut it out once and for all?

One Response

  1. Thanks for the informative information – I enjoyed reading it! I always enjoy this blog. 🙂 Cheers,

Leave a Reply

