• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

It Could Be Worse

This was the second time tonight I found him hiding in the litter box.


No matter how crummy Mondays are after a long weekend, I’m betting my day or yours was not nearly as bad as the day my cat had.

I’m not sure what is going on with Scandal, but he got spooked and found the best place to hide was his litter box. I’ve experienced some pretty crappy days in my life, but never did rolling around in poo seem like my best option.

Well, as I sat trying to figure out what happened, Russell came into the living room and confessed to hanging Christmas bells around the cat’s neck. Scandal was freaked out this weekend when we pulled the sleigh bells out of the box of Christmas decorations. I meant to take them to the garage because I knew the temptation would be too great, but I just hadn’t made it that far.

Now, some parents might be worried about their kids torturing family pets, but I think Russell is still on the right path. I don’t believe he is destined to a life of orange jumpsuits, just yet anyway. I know of what I speak – when I was a kid, I was way worse.

There may be a possibility that this whole experience is one more example of my mother seeking revenge. I’m pretty sure that she prayed on a daily basis that I would give birth to a child just like me, and that is exactly what happened.

I distinctly remember as a kid that my pets kept me quite entertained; however, not all activities were nearly as enjoyable for them as they were for me. We lived out in the country so there were multiple pets and opportunities to amuse myself.

I’m not proud of this fact, but I do gain some comfort in the fact that I did manage to become a functioning member of society so I’m fairly confident that Russell will be just fine.

Is it simply a case of the Darwinism, where my son knows he is a superior species over the pets so he takes his frustrations out on them? He may like to push me, but he knows the evolutionary chain isn’t in his favor as it relates to me right now.

It is weird watching Russell repeat some of the same things I did as a kid. He has been frustrating the hell out of me lately, and I keep meaning to ask my mom how much I really pushed her. I don’t recall being nearly as loud-mouthed, but of course there was always that fear that my dad might walk in and knock me across the room. He never did, but I knew he was capable of it.

I also find it quite interesting that it seems humanly impossible to have two good days in a row with a teenage in the house. I’m not sure what that is all about, but I suppose I will take comfort in the idea that I am not the cat today.

Leave a Reply

