• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Don’t Snicker At Me

I’m not feeling very inspired as I sit and write this evening. I had a rough day yesterday and succumbed to scarfing down a Snickers. Actually, I thoroughly enjoyed every decadent bite.

I can’t remember the last time I ate a full-size Snickers bar – man, they’re good! It is the perfect combination – peanuts, caramel and chocolate. A 2.7 oz. candy bar has 280 calories and a whopping 14 grams of fat.

I could have eaten three ounces of chicken, a baked sweet potato – with a pat of butter and a salad with vinegar and oil. I probably could have thrown in a small piece of fruit. I can’t keep crap around the house, but I found it at Wal-Mart when I picked up some photos. I would like to say that the candy jumped into my cart, but I was already contemplating what kind I wanted when I walked past the greeter.

I wandered around a bit and talked myself out of donuts, ice cream and big bags of fun-size candy bars. I knew all of those items would take me down a VERY dark hole. I guess it could have been worse – I could have opted for the supersize bar at the checkout that was as big as my head. I know someone who can eat candy bars that big – of course he works in construction and likely burns 18 million calories a day.

I bought a regular Snickers and ate it in the car, and I admit was tempted to toss the wrapper out the window on my way home. I used to do that when I was a kid to get rid of all the evidence. My best binging took place in the driver’s seat of my little orange camaro – flying down dusty country roads in rural Indiana. I rolled up the window knowing I didn’t want to go back to that space.

It wasn’t until tonight that I looked at the nutrition info. I suppose that is all the explanation needed behind reason I don’t eat Snickers. Geez, that really sucks! I can’t imagine a Milky Way or Twix is much better. On the bright side, I could have headed to DQ for a small Snickers Blizzard. That would have set me back 670 calories and 25 grams of fat!

Thankfully today, I don’t have any errands to run. The most evil thing in my house is peanut butter. While I have been known to put some serious hurt on a jar of Jiff, I think it safe from me tonight.

Leave a Reply

