• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Hungry Time Pasta

Great taste - lots of bulk!


There are nights that I am so hungry when I come home from work that I think I may pass out before I even get the chance to gnaw off my arm. I want to grab the first thing I see, and then the second…. I know I have to make something with a lot of bulk that will also taste good. Of course I have to be able to sit down and eat within about 20 minutes or there is going to be trouble.

In the time that it takes to boil water and cook pasta your meal can be nearly ready. I prepared this dish with pre-cooked frozen cocktail shrimp, but you can easily use leftover chicken or pork.

Whole Wheat Pasta
2 cups pre-cooked cocktail shrimp
14 oz. can of chopped tomatoes
3 cups zucchini and yellow squash very coarsely chopped
½ c. thinly sliced onions
1 bell pepper sliced – any color
1 tsp. dried basil
1 tsp. dried oregano
¼ tsp. rosemary
1 clove garlic
2 tsp. olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

While water is boiling for pasta, I thaw shrimp, chop veggies and mince garlic. Sautee garlic in olive oil for about 30 seconds, and add all the fresh veggies in a large sauce pan. Add canned tomatoes and shrimp. Cook until veggies reach the desired tenderness. Toss with two cups of cooked whole wheat pasta – enjoy!

If you don’t like these veggies, use the ones you do like. Mushrooms work well, but I didn’t have any this evening. This is a great dish to make if you need to clean out your veggy crisper of all the droopy looking veggies. Presto change – yummo. I also like to use the canned tomatoes that are seasoned with garlic, basil and peppers because it adds a little extra dimension.

It makes two servings, and you can easily double it. I don’t know the exact calorie and fiber content, but it has 6 WW Points. If you use pork or chicken it will alter the point value.

Leave a Reply

