• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Got An Aspirin?

Lyle stayed up all night last night – seems pretty stupid to me, and I don’t know how or why he does this. He says he loses track of time. What? He will end up with a headache strong enough to choke a horse, and we will all pay dearly.

I didn’t even notice until I woke up this morning – completely refreshed. I now know why Lucy and Desi had twin beds in the I Love Lucy show. It had nothing to do with the Puritanical rules set forth by the FCC in the 1960s. It was all about the snoring, grunting and stealing of the covers.

I laid my head down on the Tempur-Pedic pillow last night and the next thing I remembered was alarm going off to let me know it was time to get my lazy ass out of bed. I never sleep through the night. Wow.

First, I have a bladder the size of a toad and have to pee about every 15 minutes during daytime hours, and I generally need to get up at least once during the night. Have you ever seen the actor in the commercial that runs around like a crazy idiot screaming, “gotta go, gotta go, gotta go?” She came to me when she researched her part.

I’ve been this way since my earliest memory, and in my defense, I drink a lot of water. The two don’t mix well.

Anyway, I even managed to skip my night time pee routine last night, which is a miracle because I drank a diet IBC root beer at 8:30 p.m. Have you ever had one? Expensive, but Delish! Of course when I woke this morning, I thought I might die before I made it to the toilet. Have you ever had to pee so bad that you couldn’t when the opportunity presented itself? It almost makes your mouth water. It’s not right that bodily functions take so much concentration.

Regardless, I was delighted to get almost seven hours of sleep. Eight would have been great, but I can’t figure out how to do that on work days, which is another reason I love my part time schedule. I really, I mean I REALLY, like to sleep.

I sat and wondered this morning about the merits between seven and eight hours sleep as I wrote in my journal at 5:30 a.m. as Lyle was heading off to bed. Granted, he didn’t work today, but what part of going to bed at that hour seems like a good idea unless of course you are 22 and just got in from the bars and need to let the Denny’s Grand Slam settle a bit before you get some shut eye.

He was working on the computer. Nothing seems so scintillating on there to keep me awake that long. But Lyle has been obsessing about the computers lately. This always happens when we bring a new one home to the folds of the Fast Family.

He feverishly backs up, reconfigures and whatever else he feels needs to be done. I’m hoping the most recent purchase doesn’t land him a spot in the funny farm, but I’m not very hopeful.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

