• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Anybody Have Extra Time?

I feel like I’m living on borrowed time during these sunny, warm November days. I’m generally a pretty optimistic person, but I can’t help but dread the inevitable cabin fever of February so I feel like I must take advantage of the pleasant weather now.

I came home from work today and set off with the dog for a little stroll, and we ended up taking a 4.5 mile walk. For those runners out there, or others who maintain a rigorous exercise routine, that may not seem like much, but it tickled the hell out of me. Between the walk and my daily activity, I’ve put in 9 miles today, which is 20,351 steps, and I think I deserve a pat on the back – maybe even a hot fudge sundae!

It’s not so much that the activity is extraordinary, but what occurred to me today was how different it is now than it was 100 pounds ago. What did I do with my time? I used to think that I didn’t have time to walk around a block, now I’m walking 9 miles in one day?

Several years ago someone asked me what I did to lose weight, and exercise was a big part of the explanation. They didn’t really want to hear that it was a requirement, or at the very least strongly encouraged. The interesting thing to me though is that the more time I make for activity, the more time I seem to have.

I’m sure there is a scientific explanation involving endorphins or something, but who the hell cares? I just know it works. I’m also impressed that I’ve stuck with it so long. It still amazes me that I began with riding an exercise bike twice week for seven minutes each “session.” I’m doing a good thing for myself, and I’m pretty damn proud of it.

The only thing that really pisses me off is how much activity that it must take to become buff. When I lost weight, I imagined that if I put in the kind of time that I do now, I would be ripped. I still have a jiggly butt and gut, and don’t get me started on my thighs. It hardly seems fair, but I’m also not quite disciplined enough to push it up a notch. That kind of work makes me tired just thinking of it. But oooh, I just realized that this caveat may involve the exact same principle as the one I currently hold – the more you do, the more time and energy you have. Doh…Tell me it isn’t so.

2 Responses

  1. I just started on a six week regime to convert my lifestyle .. eating and excercise included. Hope to hear from you …keep up the good work . I am hoping i have as much motivation as you .

  2. Good luck on your journey. If you are trying to lose weight, variety helps a great deal. That goes for eating and exercise. When I find myself in a rut, it can become very dangerous. Best of luck. Thanks so much for checking out my blog!

Leave a Reply

