• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

It Can Be Done

I’m pleased to report that I made it through baking and eating birthday cake without any negative consequences. It was a damn good birthday cake, I might add.

My brains momentarily poured from my head when I lifted the layer cakes from the cooling rack and a moist hunk remained stuck. I raked my hand across the tines and before I could give it thought, rammed my finger tips in my salivating mouth. It didn’t mix well with my minty-fresh gum, which I strategically placed there for that very reason. I quickly plopped the racks in the soapy dish water and went about the task at hand without further incident.

I carefully planned my day to accommodate the splurge, and in case you are wondering here is how my day unfolded:

Breakfast
1 cup of plain yogurt – flavored with vanilla extract and stevia
½ cup of Fiber One – the stuff that looks like rabbit food and tastes like sweet tree bark

Snack
WW vanilla smoothie blended with 1½ cups of frozen strawberries, 1 cup water

Lunch
Big salad with homemade vinaigrette that included 1 tsp. of olive oil
Boca Burger on an Arnold Sandwich Thin with pickles, tomato and spicy mustard
1 cup black bean soup (tune in tomorrow for the recipe)

Snack
1 cup black bean soup and a bowl of cut up veggies
1 fiber cracker

Dinner
5 oz. grilled sirloin steak
Sautéed mushrooms, onions, yellow squash in 1 tsp. olive oil
1 PIECE OF CHOCOLATE CAKE – YUM!

I also walked the dog for 30 minutes and rode my exercise bike for 40 minutes.

I confess that I wanted to eat more than one piece of chocolate cake, and I would have loved to gorge on a big bowl of ice cream. However, I stuck to my plan and it felt great to stay in control and indulge in a treat.

Russell packed up the rest of the cake this morning, and he took it to school where he essentially auctioned it off to the highest bidder. We came home and he gleefully shared all the things that people were willing to do for a piece of the decadence. I think he enjoyed that as much as eating the cake. I would have appreciated had he skipped that part, especially given the fact I work at the same school where he attends, but whatever. It was his cake, and it is now gone! Woo Hoo!

Leave a Reply

