• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Calling All Knitting Needles

Snacking. It sounds like such an innocuous word, but it is causing me unbelievable grief.

I experience very little difficulty during the day with my eating. I eat modest portions of wholesome foods, which keep me satisfied throughout the day. I even plan for snacks during the day, and those don’t give me problems either. The time between 7 – 10 p.m. plagues me.

Can I claim temporary insanity? I suppose it’s possible as long as I don’t mind the increasing number of dimples on my butt. When I pack on the pounds that is the first place I notice a change. It doesn’t take too many evenings of indiscriminate eating to notice my pants pulling a bit at the seams. I could offer better landing suggestions, but it’s probably just as well that I can’t control that. I’d end up so top heavy; I’d need to start auditioning for adult films.

The good news and the bad news is my clothes fit now. I do have two pairs of pants that give me a little more wiggle room than the others, but that is nothing compared to the boutique I used to maintain a hundred pounds ago. Even with that, I’ve managed to ignore the evidence for the past five or six weeks because I’ve employed another tactic – the flowing skirt.

Whether it is luck or a curse, my waist is disproportionately small compared to my hips…or is it the other way around. Regardless, if I wear a full squirt I can camouflage my indiscretions for a fair amount of time, but I cannot hide forever.

I quickly get uncomfortable in my clothes since I eliminated sweat pants or any other elastic waist clothing articles, which I know is in my best interest. So now, I need to stop dragging my feet and get to work.

I know when my head isn’t into this weight management gig, I start making excuses like, “I really don’t eat that much – I don’t know what the problem is?” I can only live in that fairyland so long if I hope to stay out of the plus-sizes.

The evening eating has always been problematic, but it is worse at certain times. I was coming to terms with it before our family got sick, and now that we are on the mend, I need to get back in gear. Besides I can’t really use the above excuse when I see the plates and bowls stacked in the sink the morning after one of my snacking extravaganzas.

Now that I own up, I can no longer ignore what’s been going on. So, today is as good a time as any to make a few behavior changes. I think I’ll try evening knitting to distract myself (and keep my hands busy). I see many scarves in my future.

2 Responses

  1. Brushing my teeth after dinner or when the craving to snack hits keeps me from eating. I’m not sure if its the sweetness of the toothpaste or knowing that my teeth are clean but it helps me get past those snacking hours.

  2. I totally agree with this. It works – I just haven’t been doing it. I’ve let some bad habits creep in, and it is time to brush them out of the way. I also like your comment about running. I’ll post a response to that as well. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

