• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Wild Rice and Turkey Soup

turkey and rice soup

Enjoy and no one will even know it's healthy.


The only redeeming thing I can think of right now about the approaching winter is that it is soup season. I love to make soup. I find it to be a very creative adventure. I never follow a recipe, but for the blog, I keep the notepad handy so I can help you recreate what I make. Experiment and enjoy!

I generally make my own stock because it is super easy and cheap. I like to play a game to see how many times I can re-purpose one protein source into as many different meals as possible. If you have never made your own broth, don’t be intimidated. Essentially, you boil the bones with water and add a few herbs. I usually store the stock in the fridge overnight before making the soup so I can skim off the fat to make it a little healthier.

I really encourage you to try making your own stock, but if you can’t go there, you can make this recipe with chicken broth and canned or leftover chicken.

Turkey Stock
1 gallon of water
¼ tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. thyme
½ tsp. sage
½ tsp. salt
¼ onion powder
1 peeled carrot
1 stalk of celery
½ of an onion – no need to cut up
1 turkey carcass

Throw all the items in a pot – no need to cut up the veggies – add water and bring to boil. Cook over medium-low heat for 40 minutes to an hour, until all the meat left on the carcass easily pulls away from the bones.

Remove from heat and add 2 quarts of ice cubes. The only reason I add ice cubes is to chill it off enough to pull the bones out and put it in the fridge right away. Pour the broth through a strainer and into another pot or bowl.

Add broth and meat back to the pot. Chill overnight and then skim the fat off the top and discard. If you don’t have time to chill overnight go right to the soup step and skip the ice cubes.

Turkey and Wild Rice Soup
4 c. shredded turkey (you can use more or less)
1 c. sliced carrots
3 c. sliced fresh button mushrooms
1 c. dried shitake mushrooms (I get them cheap at a local Asian market)
1 tsp. thyme
½ tsp. sage
½ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. garlic powder
1 ½ c. dry wild rice
2-3 c. frozen chopped spinach

Add all ingredients except the rice and spinach. If you don’t have the dried mushrooms, simply add extra fresh mushrooms. I like using a couple different kinds of mushrooms and the dried mushrooms add more depth to the flavor. I also like the texture of the dried mushrooms once they are rehydrated. Bring the soup to a boil and add the wild rice. Cook for 40 minutes over medium-low heat. Add frozen spinach and cook for 5 more minutes.

Nutrition Info: The soup makes approximately 8 quarts. I figured nutrition on 20 servings – about 1 ½ cups, which contain 81 calories, 1 gram fiber, less than 1 gram of fat and 3.2 grams of protein. It comes out to 1 Point on WW – but fair warning two servings equals 3 Points. It’s a great homemade soup that freezes well.

Leave a Reply

