• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

This Bugs Me

Quarantine Fun

Quarantine Fun


I’m not feeling well, and I’m tired of trying to keep myself quarantined. It began Friday evening. All of a sudden I started coughing, experiencing a weird pain in my chest and feeling feverish. Can you say, “H1N1?”

I went to bed, stayed there all day yesterday for the exception of coming out of my hole to bitch at my family. It is after all their fault that I might have the flu bug. It’s o.k. to blame others for our illnesses, right? Work with me here, I’m not feeling so hot.

At first, I was a little excited. The idea of spending all day by myself in my bedroom with no distractions except a stack of books and a laptop felt pretty much like heaven to me. The only problem I found was that my stomach seemed to think that I climbed on a roller coaster without the fun squealing part, and I could barely remember my name let alone retain anything that I might hope to read.

That left sleeping, eating and watching TV, two of which can be done simultaneously. To distract myself a little, I thought it would be a good idea to get the latest updates for my iPhone. I ended up wiping out all the programming and resetting the damn thing to the original factory settings – that was entertaining and took up some time.

I woke this morning convinced that I was going to feel better. The only things standing between me and feeling 100 percent were a couple strong cups of coffee and a hot shower. I’ve had both now, and I feel just as dizzy, and now I’m getting a really queasy feeling in my stomach. I’m not a puker so that just better calm down.

I went to http://www.flu.gov and it’s not looking good. Based on the little questionnaire I completed, I may benefit from a little medical attention. It’s the weekend and the last place I want to be right now is the middle of an ER filled to capacity with hacking sick people. Being in the presence of me is plenty, thank you very much.

I think I’ll lie around again today, and then make an appointment for the doctor tomorrow if I’m still feeling crappy. At least that way I can minimize my exposure to others and vice versa.

The silver lining in all of this is that I froze a big batch of turkey and wild rice soup last week. Looks like I found the perfect occasion to enjoy it.

One Response

  1. Hang in there sweetie. I will send white light in your direction. Evan tells me you all have it now. That’s a real bitch!. Be kind to each other. Thinking of you all. Love you

Leave a Reply

