• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Chocolaty Goodness

Should chocolate and fiber occupy the same space?

I’m not talking about the naturally occurring fiber in dark chocolate – that’s a bonus. I’m trying to figure out if I should continue with my efforts to make a muffin containing chocolate that is also healthy. More importantly, can I expect it taste good?

This time of year finds me spending much more time indoors. I like to cook so I start playing in the kitchen. I tweak traditional American favorites in ways to make them savory and healthy.

Sometimes I pour over recipe books, not to find one to follow, but to give me ideas. I never was one who liked to follow a recipe. I look at them more as reference guides. Even the recipes that I create and post on the blog are ones that I wing along the way. I simply keep a note pad nearby to track things as I go.

Having a fairly good awareness of nutrition, I can generally create a soup, entrée or side dish that is pretty good. But sweet treats continue to haunt me. I vacillate between whether or not it is even a good idea to try to make desserts nutritious or simply indulge on occasion; however, if I could develop some good desserts that were also wholesome, perhaps I could partake a little more frequently.

Over the weekend, I experimented around with creating a chocolate muffin. My first attempt was actually pretty good, but I got a little carried away with the taste tests. I need tasters who can give me reliable feedback.

The problem arises in the fact that I take a lot of pride in my cooking and I don’t want people trying stuff that might really be awful. I can’t trust my judgement. After all, I’m the one who decided it would be a good idea to combine chocolate and bran.

I don’t have a problem throwing out the completely skanky disasters, but what causes grief are those items that are just O.K. Should I save them or toss them? I dream of creating a tasty morsel as good as one found in a bakery. I would love it if no one could tell it was even healthy. I may be out of touch with reality; perhaps limiting my sugar intake clouded my brain.

I can’t depend on my family for reliable feedback either because if they see me eating anything, they immediately deduce it must be diet food. How am I going to get past all this? The dog can’t eat chocolate, and besides she can’t be trusted since she has been known to eat her own poo.

I think one of the reasons I become a little over zealous with tasting the sweet goodies is that I justify it by telling myself they are healthy. That’s all fine and good unless I end up consuming twice the calories as the real thing would have offered. It is of little consequence that my digestive tract is in better shape than had I simply eaten the carrot cake with cream cheese icing.

I’m not sure what the answer is. I think I might need to continue the muffin experiment because I’m off to a pretty good start. Part of me just wants to keep going just to see if it can be done.

Leave a Reply

