• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Hip, Hip, Hooray!

The waiting is over, and I received good news – no cancer.

I’ve been trying my best not to be negative or obsess about what a cancer diagnosis would potentially mean for me and my family. I even thought I exhibited appropriate amounts of humor to lighten the seriousness of the wait. For the most part, I even kept emotional eating at bay.

This morning I was a bit pre-occupied because I knew I should get the results from the biopsy. Thankfully, work slammed me with pressing deadlines so I couldn’t spend a lot of time impatiently waiting for the doctor to call. I have to tell you though, when the phone rang and I heard him say, “I have good news,” the tears of relief started flowing.

My coworker celebrated with me and asked if I needed a hug. As the tears streamed, I said, “I guess I’m pretty damn happy with my saggy boobs now!” She did look at me kinda funny, but understand she is also 10 years younger and never breastfed a baby.

I’m not entirely sure what the take-away is here…there are a lot of good lessons to learn.

I work hard at maintaining a pretty healthy lifestyle, but I know I’m not unique, and that alone cannot guarantee I will live to a ripe old age. Who knows if that is all it’s cracked up to be? Having said that, I do believe it is important to live in a way in which promotes wellness. I feel good that I have made such positive strides to take care of my physical being.

I suppose this experience also reminded me of the fact that I am only sure about today. Jobs come and go, we scrub tubs that get scummy again and laundry never ends. Boring chores fill our lives. I’m not saying we have to shirk our responsibilities, but we have the opportunity to embrace something beautiful if we choose to.

When the end of the day arrives, it still seems like there isn’t ever quite enough time. This awareness seems surfaces during hard times, but then somehow life resumes the standard frenetic pace. Bit by bit the true priorities begin to compete against the mundane.

I’ve always known that I have great friends and family surrounding me. The last couple weeks reminded me how important that is. It is the people that weave in and out of our lives that bring richness to our existence.

Today I thank all of you who were sending me positive energy, thoughts and prayers! Now, I need to go eat a cheeseburger – just kidding.

Peace!

2 Responses

  1. I don’t know if congratulations is appropriate, but congratulations!

  2. Yeah!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

