• Follow On Twitter

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other subscribers

Cucumber and Tomato Salad

Share it or eat it all yourself - either way delicious!

Share it or eat it all yourself - either way delicious!


If you are growing a garden, it is time to start thinking about what you want to do with all the cucumbers and tomatoes. We grew a cucumber plant this year called the stacker. It produces a small, mild vegetable that works well cut up for a veggie tray or in a salad.

2 cups sliced cucumbers
1 cup chopped tomatoes
1 Tbs. chopped chives
½ tsp. chopped fresh dill
Juice of one lemon or lime
1 Tbs. Olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Dried herbs will also work in this recipe, but I have fresh this time of year so I like to take advantage of it. You can also add some minced garlic and fennel if you like. The fennel adds a distinctive licorice-like flavor. Once you mix this together, you end up with a lot of juice so if you want to add more cucumbers and tomatoes, have at it. Simply increase the herbs, but there is no need to increase the oil. The only reason I used a tablespoon of olive oil was because I had not eaten any healthy oil today.

Nutrition for the entire bowl: 183 calories, 3 grams fiber and 13 grams of fat – but totally healthy fats.

Real Food?

I spend a lot of time ruminating about food – When I’m going to eat it; how much there will be; will it be sweet or savory, healthy or junky; who will be there enjoying it with me; am I going to have to prepare it…

When I was fat (I can call myself that, but it’s not a recommended term of endearment for significant others), I thought my weight was only about the food. I hoped the obsession would vanish with the pounds. I learned that if it had been only about food, I’d probably share the same circumference as a number two pencil. Food helped me cope with life, good and bad.
Continue reading