• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Rainy In and Out

It is rainy outside, and I have no place I need to be. I would really like to crawl back in bed, and I have that freedom since I don’t work in the summer. I’ve been up since 5:30 so I can almost use the excuse that it is time for a nap.

I admit I tried to go back to sleep a little while ago as the dishes were screaming at me from the kitchen sink; however, one problem remains. The three (OK four) giant mugs of coffee I consumed prevent me from even sitting still let alone nodding off. Had I realized it was going to rain today, I might have altered my morning routine just a bit.

Several years ago, I totally eliminated coffee from my diet. I thought it was the healthy thing to do. Once I detoxed, I realized that my body was pretty sensitive to the substance aka. drug. Then I picked up a magazine while in a doctor’s office and read about all the antioxidants found in coffee – well it most certainly is good for me. The two trips to France sealed the deal.

Not only do I drink it in the morning now, I like it to course through my veins mid-day, and any other time before about 4 p.m. If I drink it after that time, I’m searching my address book for people to call at 2 a.m. when I can’t squeeze my eyelids shut. Other than that, I don’t notice many effects, but I’m sure that is due to the fact that my tolerance is quite high.

A few weeks ago a routine medical exam required some blood work, and I was forced to forego my morning caffeine. By the time 11:30 rolled around, I thought my head was going to explode. I’m quite sure those weren’t withdrawal symptoms. “La, la, la, I can’t hear you. No, of course I’m not addicted.”

I know I should probably give it up again, but I really like it, and I haven’t found a desirable substitution. Well, I guess sleep would suffice, but I can’t fit any more of that into my schedule if I’m going to come close to checking off the items on my to-do list.

Hmmm… I wonder if that says something about my organizational skills or my expectations. I guess that is a question best pondered on a day that I don’t feel like I suffer from narcolepsy.

I think I may need to hit the mall or something. My house may be a dangerous place to be this afternoon. If I can’t sit around sleeping or drinking coffee, sometimes the best alternative is eating, and I don’t need a party in my mouth to liven things up around here!

Before I go too far, I think I will hop on my stationary bike. Interestingly enough, going nowhere on this machine generally brings more clarity than a trip anywhere else I can imagine.

It may be dreary outside, but I don’t need to invite it in to roll around my head! The bike, she beckons!

Cheerio!

Leave a Reply

