• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Distractions Anyone?

I generally see myself as a pretty focused person. I like to enjoy a couple morning cups of coffee, write in my journal, assemble a daily to-do list and off I go.

Lately, I think I’ve been allowing myself to get distracted by email. I find this hugely ironic since I begrudgingly entered the 21st century… even somewhat pleased that our family doesn’t have cable or texting on our cell phones. I know it isn’t much, but it is one little bastion left that remains in the fight against the impersonal nature of technology.

It’s not that I’m against the idea of advancement, but I think sometimes we pay a certain price in regard to personal interactions. I can’t remember the last time I hand wrote a letter. Although, that may have more to do with the fact that I can’t read my own handwriting so I hate to inflict it on others.

A new friend of mine shared his thoughts with me about the ideas of friendship within this high tech age. I feel like I’m a pretty good friend, but his ideas definitely made me evaluate my relationships with my electronics. I try to be supportive and maintain authentic relationships with people, but do I use the computer as a distraction from doing things I really need to accomplish? Does my relationship with others and maybe even more importantly myself suffer when I turn on my computer or pick up my cell phone?

If my email box is open on my computer desktop, the ding of incoming mail instantly halts my focus. I wonder who wants to talk to me. What do they have to say? Will they tell me a funny joke? Is it spam? The next thing I know, I’ve pittered away an hour, doing what?

I’ve been waking early to work on some writing projects. The house is quiet, and no household chore seems too pressing at 5:30 a.m. But email is always calling my name, especially now that I can communicate instantly with people all around the world. Surely there is someone who wants to come out and play in cyber space.

Hanging out on Facebook or answering email is way more fun than working or riding my exercise bike. I don’t know whether I like it or not when I recognize these potential stumbling blocks. Once they make themselves known, they are much harder to ignore…damn!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

