• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Word to the Wise

Shouldn’t that the phrase really be “word to the idiots.” The wise have everything under control and don’t need any advice, but I could have used some the other day before I went for a haircut.

First, let me say that I love my hairdresser, but I learned a valuable lesson. As hard as it is to get an appointment (sometimes as difficult as being seen by the gynecologist), it is never a good idea to take the first appointment after she returns from vacation.

We all like to think we are rested after a break, but I’ve always said that we should all take another week when we return just to sort through all the shit that piled up while we were gone. Well, I guess it is no different in the land of cosmotology.

Let me throw another tidbit of advice your way. Never complicate a bad haircut with do-it-yourself hair color. Holy shit, my hair stood up on end before, but now I look like Woody the Woodpecker! I kid you not! I tried to take a picture to post it with the blog entry, but I can’t capture the true essence – kinda like you can’t take a picture of the grandness of the Grand Canyon.

I wanted a short summer do, and I got it. I usually love my time with my stylist. She is creative, and I like watching her work. I also think she likes cutting my hair because I give her free reign. It’s hair; it will grow. But I could tell it wasn’t going well, and she wasn’t quite digging where the cut was taking her. I gave her permission to go shorter. Let’s just say I don’t have to worry about my hair getting in my eyes for a while!

After I got home, I decided a little color might improve the situation. Again, it’s only hair, right? I’ve used the non-permanent color rinses before, but I’ve always chosen a color close to my natural one. Rosewood seemed to be as good a color as any, and it looked like a warm reddish brown on the box. Go for it Melissa.

Let me tell you; it’s all marketing. I would have never picked up that box had it been called Brassy Bozo Bronze or Woodpecker Rosé. I literally screamed when I rinsed the color off my head. Russell of course thought it was funny as hell, but Lyle knows better than to say anything. A bald man commenting on his wife’s hairstyle/color is not going to lead to hot sex anytime in the near future!

On the bright side, I don’t have to worry about getting lost in large crowds because my head nearly glows, and I saved a lot of money because I think I can skip at least the next haircut. I’m going to look at the experiences as testing ground for raising my self-esteem (and humor).

Gotta go…the circus is calling!

2 Responses

  1. Great descriptive writing! Thanks, I needed that laugh!!
    Yes, it’s only hair and it will grow, but in the mean time, please, please post a pic 🙂

  2. It is defiately in the genes!!!! Didn’t watching your mother do wild things with her hair teach you anything? Oh well, as I always said “It’s just hair, it grows back”. Let’s hope huh?

Leave a Reply

