• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Vacationing with a Fry Pie

Yesterday I went to Yutzy’s Farm Market, which is a little store nestled in the countryside that has great deals on deli items and produce. It sits in the midst of an Amish community so fresh baked goods are also abundant. I usually ignore those, but as I picked up a loaf of bread for my men folk, I noticed the “fry pies.”

That is literally what they were called. I would like to say that the proprietors needed some brand advice to enter 21st century marketing; however, the name certainly didn’t slow me down from grabbing a couple of the deep fried, sugar glazed pastries. There were several flavors, so I picked peach for me and apple for Russell.

It was a happy flashback (only better) to the Hostess Fruit Pies I loved as a kid. For the record, I adored Hostess products. I ate Dolly Madison Zingers or Little Debbie Oatmeal Cream Cookies in a pinch, but Ding Dongs, Twinkies, Ho Ho’s and Susie Q’s rocked my world!

The snack cakes were housed in a cabinet above our stove, and the last treat unofficially bore my dad’s name. No one dared to eat the final chocolate cupcake with the white swirly icing top for fear of unleashing Wrath of Dad, which appeared right after All in the Family on Sunday nights!

We picked these tasty morsels up at the supermarket during our weekly girls’ outing. My sister, mom and I would first clean up around the house and then head to lunch at either Arbys, McDonalds, Burger King or sometimes Pizza Hut.

I think I preferred Arbys and my sister liked BK, but it could have been the other way around. I only recall the weekly argument about who got to choose the place, at which point Mom probably wondered why she brought either of us along!

What the hell, I just realized this was probably the only “fun excursion” my mom experienced the entire week, and she got to spend it with two screaming girls, and then rounded out the day by putting groceries away! I’m glad I wasn’t a wife in the 70s. I know I’ve said it before Mom, but thanks for not locking me in a soundproof closet until I was 18 even though I deserved it!

Anyway, these grocery expeditions yielded an abundance of snack food. My goal as soon as we entered the house was to “try” one of everything within the first hour home. Was I afraid the products would get stale? I’m pretty sure that Twinkies have at least a three year shelf life!

O.K. the peach pie provided a nice stroll down memory lane, but to come close to breaking even, I needed 40 minutes on a stationary bike, 100 sit-ups, a stability ball workout and a five mile walk. In all likelihood, I still ended the day in the hole, which explains why the seven pounds I want to drop is holding fast.

There is a balance to be found somewhere. I feel a little more relaxed about it than I have been in a long time. I’m not sure if that is good or bad, but I also know I need to enjoy the ride. The pie provided a nice little mental vacay that didn’t result in a huge emotional Visa bill so is it all bad?

5 Responses

  1. While looking for the salsa recipe, I found other great recipes, but where’s the salsa? Of course the true test is if I can make them………

  2. I don’t have the plain salsa recipe posted yet. I’ll post it soon.

    I liked what you said about perfection…I’ve got to think about it and you may see something here about it soon. Thanks for posting comments directly to the blog. The hope is to get a bit of a conversation going on here.

  3. Ok, I will make my comments on your blog…I just wasn’t sure about “putting it all out there”.
    I’m looking forward to your thoughts on “perfection”. I’ve been looking for some distinguishing traits between perfection and continual improvement.
    Thanks for the salsa recipe…I’m going to try it this weekend!

  4. Definitely put it out there! That’s what I would like to see. I would love it if everyone made comments. That is part of the fun of the blog.

  5. You, my dear, were one of two “lifetime fun excursions”! No locking up for you, except in my heart!

Leave a Reply

