• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Texas Sheet Cake Is No Friend

One of the boys brought Texas sheet cake to the lacrosse party this weekend, and I ate it as if I had never eaten it and feared I would never have it again. Here, I thought the 14-year-old boys were the only human garbage cans!

I woke up yesterday morning, felt like someone had beaten me with a stick and then submerged me in water. By last night my joints were aching so bad that I was convinced I must have lupus and needed hospitalization!

I was one with the couch most of the day, unless I peeled away from my blanket long enough to get more cake! Why do I let myself do that? I know how crappy I feel when I eat that much sugar. All I need to do if I’m in doubt is read old blog entries. God knows I leave enough evidence here to incriminate myself!

By the time I finally fought my way through the haze, I was so lethargic I couldn’t focus on anything. I was not worth a damn, and definitely not motivated for any aerobic activity – HA!

Even Russell mentioned at one point after everyone left yesterday that HE ate too much sugar. Was I trying to keep up with him, or maybe devour all the leftovers to protect him from the pain?

So Monday is here, and I must part with the fog. I know I will need to be careful the rest of the week. I can generally make it through the workday after these episodes, but then the cravings hit early evening so I have to be prepared. I made a smoothie for breakfast and I took plenty of healthy munchies to work. I knew I couldn’t afford to let my head wander off again.

I came home this evening and hopped on my exercise bike while I watched Oprah on TiVo, and I even managed to do some resistance exercises when I got off the bike. I could have chosen to play the shoulda, woulda, coulda game, but to what end?

I have a couple really busy weeks ahead of me so I need to stay focused to recognize potential hazards. I cannot allow myself to be distracted by more of the sweet stuff.

One day I will learn, at least I hope so. I guess it’s not all bad. I took a nose dive for a day and a half. It’s not the end of the world, but I certainly don’t feel the need to extend the misery.

I accepted no excuses when I put my plan into action first thing this morning, and continued on that path when I returned from work. I exercised, ate dinner and made earrings for a friend. All of those things kept me occupied. If I find too much idle time, I can always clean. Plenty of weekend party destruction remains to keep me out of trouble!

Wish me luck with the sugar withdrawal. In the meantime, I can rest easily tonight knowing that I’m back in the saddle having left Texas behind!

Leave a Reply

