• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Memorial Day Parties

What will you eat this weekend? How will it set the tone for this sunny season?

People often kick-off the summer with Memorial Day parties. I know I will be attending one. I’m headed to my dad’s house. I haven’t quite formalized my plan, but I’ve begun scheming.

I won’t leave until Saturday afternoon so breakfast and lunch will be well within my control. That leaves dinner and snack on Saturday, breakfast on Sunday, the party and drive home. I need to take some food with me so that I can make smart food choices.

Going to my dad’s house is like visiting a Village Pantry or Speedway – there is temptation behind every cabinet drawer. Taking food is the only way I can minimize collateral damage.

I’m going to pack provisions that will include Arnold Sandwich Thins, smoothie mixes, 94% fat free microwave popcorn and fruit. It’s about a three hour drive so I’ll stop when I get close for some skim milk or yogurt. Veggies will be covered since they do manage to eat a lot of salads.

Dinner on Saturday shouldn’t be a problem. We will either go out for a bite to eat, and I can make my preferences known, or we will grill steaks. Add a baked potato and a salad, and I’m good to go.

Now I just need to figure out how I’m going to navigate the party on Sunday afternoon. I have no idea what they will be serving, and I won’t have much control over the menu. I think I will give my dad a call to find out what is planned. If they are grilling out, I’m going to take some veggie burgers. Otherwise, I’ll bring some other lean protein and make a big salad.

I want to save my splurge for dessert. Why is it that family gatherings have such good desserts? Maybe I would be cured of gorging at family potlucks if I found long blonde hairs woven through the cherry delight! Fat chance, my relatives follow fairly hygienic kitchen practices!

The good news is that I will leave the temptation behind. I just need to get through a day and a half, and I can do that if I choose to make AND stick to a plan.

I’m still thinking, but if you have any suggestions, feel free to share.

Leave a Reply

