• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Do Hamsters Have the Right Idea?

If I was a member of a hamster community I would have probably eaten my offspring this week! I don’t think this behavior in rodents has anything to do with the mother being nervous from too much stimuli. I think she just gets tired of all the squeaky, demanding little beasts, and she throws up her tiny claws when she has had enough. After all, she knows she can make more, and with any luck, they will be a nicer, more respectful brood!

I’m sure my son and I will both survive adolescence. I mean, people manage to make it through all the time, right? I haven’t heard of any prison blocks that house insane mothers on death row who all chewed the heads off their “sweet babies.”

I now understand the look that my own mother used to give me because it is my constant companion! It’s the look of utter amazement. One, you haven’t killed your child, and two he/she apparently has no clue that he has narrowly escaped death!

I’m lucky and I fully recognize that I have one of the “good ones.” He is responsible and he takes his school work seriously. He isn’t overly interested in girls, and there is no evidence of drug use. On days that I don’t want to chew his head off, I actually enjoy being around him.

He is a fascinating human being, and I love to watch him interact with people and solve complex problems. I know I need to cut him some slack, but sometimes he just won’t shut the hell up long enough for me to try! He truly is my child! Of course, if my mother is reading this, she can now die a happy woman. I only hope I will have the same opportunity to see my son with his very own version of himself some day. It makes me smile just to imagine it!

I love him dearly, and I can’t imagine my life without him. He is the reason I am on this earth today, and I don’t say that lightly. When I experienced my darkest days, I knew I had to suck it up because he needed me.

We will make it through these challenging times, and I hope that we will come out on the other side sharing the same respect I have for my own parents. I gained much clarity regarding my own childhood when I became a mother. Each developmental stage our family endures teaches me a little bit more about the things that influenced my parents’ behaviors. They get points in my book for not choosing to lock me in a sound proof closet from the time I was 14 until I went away to college!

I know I’m the grown-up here, and it is up to me to set an example of how I want my son to behave. While I would like to disconnect the hamster wheel and run away until the intense feelings fade, my work is not yet done.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

