• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Vacation Plans

I finalized some summer vacation plans last night. I’m so excited that we will be headed to Tucson to see my mom. I don’t get to see her nearly enough so I’m glad to have the trip to look forward to.

We usually hang around our house during the summer. It seems pretty silly to go anywhere since we live on a lake with vacation in our backyard. However, we are throwing around the idea of retiring in Arizona, and before we seriously consider it, we thought it best to visit during the heat of the summer. August qualifies! We all talk about dry heat not being nearly as bad as the humidity of the Midwest, but 115˚F is hot any way you spin it!

It seems weird to even contemplate retirement at 43, but I am amazed at how quickly time flies. I feel old just saying that! Hell, I may not need to worry about it if the economy continues to slide. I may have to try on the phrase, “Do you want fries with that?”

Lyle began working for the state while he was in college so if all goes well (notice I didn’t say as planned), he will be able to retire in about five years at the ripe old age of 51. Now, I’m sure that we will both continue to do something productive, like sip margaritas poolside, ah, I mean work somewhere, but it likely will not be in central Ohio.

I’ve spent my entire life in the Midwest, between Indiana and Ohio to be precise. It has been a good place to live, but sometimes I feel like I’ve outgrown it. I just need to see/experience something more. I’ve always thought I should live in the west, not sure why exactly.

Regardless, I’m looking forward to seeing my mom. I miss her. She moved from Indiana to Tucson about 10 years ago to keep an eye on her mother. The climate also suits her; it’s a nice place to visit at least, but I miss being able to hop in the car to see her when the urge strikes.

I try to focus on the fact that I’m blessed to have her in my life. There are lots of people who look at visits with their families as mere obligations, and that couldn’t be farther from the truth with me and my mom. The moment we see each other, we begin a non-stop conversation. My step dad is amazed to watch us, let alone listen to us. I think it probably exhausts him to simply think that two people could have so much to say to each other – without repeating a single word!

I’m really lucky to have a good relationship with my mom, and I thoroughly appreciate it. It was a long time coming with lots of bumps along the way. It is important to have people in your life that you trust implicitly, and I’m fortunate that she is one of those people.

Relationships can challenge us all at times; it takes time to develop and maintain good ones. However, the energy I get from having people like my mom in my life makes me a better person. The connections I maintain with people bring Technicolor to my world, and I feel better when I give of my self and I embrace what I receive.

Cheers!

2 Responses

  1. Wow! Glad to hear you may come out my way to live some day. I left Indiana on New Year’s Day, 1996 and have never looked back. I had lost my support system, as you know, so it just seemed right to make the leap. People say Arizona does not have the “4 Seasons”. Not true, we have Prescott; Flagstaff; Payson; and let’s not forget beautiful Sedona. I live only an hour from the Hualapai Mountains where we can hike in snow, but never do! We do have two seasons where I live, Hot and Windy, and I am sure your mom agrees Tucson is similar. I have been trying to convert my family members for years. So, do not hesitate, retire here, and experience it all…Arizona, Utah, California, Nevada, New Mexico, etc. Let me know the dates you are in Tucson. Nancy

  2. I’m looking forward to the trip, and I think I will be just fine with the heat. I don’t think we will be up north this trip. We were originally going to go to Sedona and the Grand Canyon, but I think we are opting out of that due to time…next time perhaps.

Leave a Reply

