• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Dodge Ball

Have you ever been too tired to exercise or clean the house? How about simply too exhausted to eat a hot fudge sundae? Me neither! What’s up with that?

I didn’t sleep well last night. I dreamed about work and Russell hurting himself. Since I was sleeping lightly, I heard Lyle snoring like a water buffalo all night long. Man, he really needs to schedule a sleep study. As I lay listening to his uneven breathing, I wondered how much oxygen he was depriving his brain. Then it just irritated me that he was keeping me awake. I finally gave up and got out of bed about 5:00. That isn’t that much earlier than I usually rise, but I didn’t have to work today so I was looking forward to an extra hour or so of sleep…not in the stars I guess.

Since I don’t work on Friday, I planned to visit Franklin Park Conservatory to catch the butterfly exhibit. Every year, I tell myself I’m going to go, and this year was it. I didn’t get the memo that half the people in Columbus and surrounding counties must have also decided that today was their day! I grabbed one of the last parking spots next to the stinky compost pile and walked to the front gates, but I enjoyed the flowering trees on my trek to the front door.

I quickly learned there was a special luncheon, and 1.2 million Brownies were touring the remaining exhibits open to the public. Peaceful contemplation was going to have to wait. I wandered around for about an hour and a half and decided that I might want to come back on another day. Hell, I thought with a recession going on trips to the conservatory would be the first to go. I should be glad that so many people appreciate nature!

After the conservatory I met a couple friends for coffee, but first I needed a little lunch. By then, the lack of sleep was taking its toll. I wanted to roll around with a Rueben sandwich – I was sure that would wake me up. Instead I settled for some hummus and tabouli. But maybe a hunk of chocolate cake for dessert would perk me up? I stayed strong.

All afternoon I felt like I was playing dodge ball with food. Then I had to stop at the grocery. I managed to escape without ice cream or cookies or any other red light food that would send me down a dark hole. I’m not sure why I like to eat when I get tired. I guess it doesn’t take too much energy to ram a Twinkies down my throat. Thankfully, I didn’t bring any home.

It’s 7:30 and I’m sitting here chomping sugarless watermelon gum. I hate to admit it, but I’ve already gone through a pack today. The tangy flavor is really getting on my nerves at this point, but it is serving a purpose to remind me that I’m not too tired to take care of myself. I think I’m going to have some popcorn in about a half hour and call it a night…now, that is one exciting Friday night!

Leave a Reply

