• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Beef Roast and Barley Soup

Use the beef stock from the roast to make a delicious soup!

Use the beef stock from the roast to make a delicious soup!

I love the crock pot – it helps me make delicious and hearty meals that are super easy! When I plan for a meal like this, I always think ahead so I can prepare another meal out of the concoction. Soup is an easy option for the second go around.

Beef Roast

1 lean beef roast
1 onion
½ tsp. garlic salt
2 tsp. thyme
2 tsp. salt (optional)
Carrots
Potatoes
Fresh button mushrooms
Water

Trim all fat from the roast and peel carrots. I leave the skins on the potatoes. I also keep the onion whole, but that is only because my husband hates chunks of onions. Feel free to slice it up if your family tolerates it. It’s easier for me to strain a whole onion out of the mixture, while still adding flavor. Add ingredients to crock pot and fill with water. Cook on low for 10-12 hours.

If I’m going to be home before dinner, I put the carrots and potatoes in the crock pot two hours before we plan to eat. If I’m away the entire day and want to eat the moment I walk through the door, I don’t cut the potatoes or carrots into chunks. This helps keep them from getting too mushy. Rosemary also works quite nicely in place of the thyme, and adds a more intense flavor. Put the broth in the fridge over night to allow the fat to rise to the top. Skim off and discard before you use the broth.

Nutrition information is really dependent on the amount of beef you eat and the cut of meat – you be the judge there!

Beef Barley Soup

Broth (total of 4 quarts of liquid)
2 c. shredded lean beef
1 cup sliced carrots
2 c. fresh sliced mushrooms
1 ½ c. dried shitake mushrooms (I get them at that Asian market – they’re cheaper than the supermarkets)
½ c. chopped celery
¼ tsp. onion powder
¼ tsp. garlic powder
Salt and pepper to taste
1 ½ c. quick cook barley

Making soup is a cross between art and therapy for me. It is a creative venture that brings delicious results. I think while I cook and improvise along the way. I will tell you that the only time I measure ingredients is when I assemble these recipes to post so don’t be afraid to experiment. Rosemary also works quite nicely in this recipe.

Use the broth from the night before, and skim the fat off the top. I use about 4-5 quarts of liquid. I usually get about 3 quarts from the roast. It is a nice stock so I generally just add water. If you have less of the homemade beef stock, add the boxed or canned broth. Making beef stock from the recipe above is quite easy and it adds a depth to the soup that is hard to duplicate.

Put all ingredients except barley into pot and bring to boil over medium heat. Lower heat and add barley. Quick-cook barley will be ready in about 15 minutes. If you use pearl barley you will need to cook it for about an hour. The soup freezes beautifully, which gives me even more bang for your buck!

Nutrition information is approximate. Each cup has approximately 110 calories, 13 grams of protein, 2 grams of fat and 2 grams of fiber.

Leave a Reply

