• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Breathe

Today I will breathe. I know it may not appear to be a lofty goal. After all, it is part of the autonomic nervous system and I fully realize that I can’t tell myself to stop. I suppose I could hold my breath, but I’ll just pass out and start breathing again. Since I can’t control it, why make it an objective for the day?

Sometimes when I experience difficulty I need to get back to basics. I can flit and swirl from one place to another, not slowing down long enough to figure out anything, or I can stop and breathe.

When I get stressed at work, I remind myself that breathing is not optional, and I tell others the same thing when I see them cross my path with the harried expression that mirrors mine. The remark generally illicits a chuckle. I say it not so much for the laugh, but to tune in to the real task at hand.

Mindful breathing calms and centers me. It also helps me accept the fact that I am not the universal handyman of my environment. I cannot fix the toilets, patch the roof, repair the car, and I can’t bring peace to those who don’t want it or can’t find it on their own.

I’ve been pretty blessed with good problem solving skills. I am usually flexible enough to look at a problematic situation through many different perspectives and develop a reasonable plan. In a controlled environment things progress quite nicely…the problem is the control part.

I say I recognize the fact that I can’t control much of what goes on around me, but sometimes I find myself thinking time would progress much better if I could. I may not want that kind of responsibility, but if people would just shut up and listen, we might get something done here, right?

I don’t like to accept things that are not reasonable and sound. I want to make it better. Can’t we put our heads together and just try a little harder to solve the dilemma? This world is imperfect at best, and I’m going to drive myself insane if I can’t accept the fact that not everyone operates under the same set of instructions as I do.

So, breathing is my goal today. With each inhalation, I will remember all that is good in my life. I will also send thoughts of love and support to those who I hold in my soul. The exhalation will bring release. I let go of what is out of my control and hope for peace and acceptance.

2 Responses

  1. Melissa, have you thought about meditation? I’ve got a great sort of “beginners CD” that’s all about mindful breathing, “Just Being” that I think would help you on these sorts of days when you do need to remind yourself to just breathe and just be. It’s got closed-eye and open-eye guided meditations on it. I truly recommend it. My favorite is a 15 minute long one that I can close my office door, turn off the lights, and Just Be. 🙂

  2. Wren – I’d love more info about the cd. I do a simple meditation given to me by my acupuncturist. I haven’t been as faithful with it lately…guess it’s time to get back to it!

    I’ve been pretty squirrely lately, and it is certainly hard to avoid emotional eating when I get that way.

    Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

