• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

First Time for Everything

This has been a crazy week. Lyle was out of town the first part of the week, and Russell scheduled late nights at school in preparation for a play. I have been mom, dad and taxi. Needless to say it is a little hectic in the Fast household. We work really hard at NOT over-programming, and this week is the epitome of everything we try to avoid.

When it began, I knew exercise would be paramount to maintain any semblance good judgment. We live about 30 miles from my son’s school so when he has an afterschool activity it generally means we coast around waiting which also interrupts my exercise routine.

Monday night I walked around the mall and tried out some elliptical machines in Sears. It was less than ideal considering I didn’t bring tennis shoes and I still wore my work clothes, but it certainly beat hanging out at Maggie Moos and eating three gallons of ice cream. I caught the first inkling that something may be seriously wrong with me since I thought grabbing a workout at Sears seemed almost normal.

Tuesday, I had a meeting after school so I couldn‘t fit any activity in before the play, but I at least took a brief walk in the sunshine to clear my head. I knew that I had another crazy day today. I don’t work on Wednesdays, but I had to take Russell to school, retrieve Lyle from the airport, pick Russell up from school, get a bite to eat and attend the play for the second night in a row. This translates to no normal home workout. This required some creative problem solving which is scary if you remember that I did my cardio at Sears on Monday.

I loaded up a bag with a change of clothes and headed off to a gym in which I had no membership. I decided that today was the day that I needed to research area fitness clubs. Never in my life would I have ever pictured myself rearranging my morning to listen to a 40 minute sales pitch just so I could grab the same amount of time on an elliptical machine. Was this trade-off embedded in dedication or madness? I think a call to the men in white coats may hold the answer!

Interestingly enough the fitness center was sort of nice. I don’t know if it is worth the monthly fee to ride machines in which I have access, but the classes they offer might be cool. So, my birthday is right around the corner, and I think a short term gym membership might be the perfect gift. Is there no end to these insane firsts?

Cheers!

One Response

  1. I require habit and routine to effectively exercise…. my schedule constantly changes and interrupts my routine…. no exercise makes Bob’s mind a bad place to be.

    Good luck in your new Fitness Quest at the Gym… you’ll have to keep us updated on your successes and failures in keeping it going!

Leave a Reply

