• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Arm Candy

When you are so hungry you want to chew off your arm, what do you do? First, I have to ask, when is the last time you ate, and how satisfying was it?

I am a snacker which is much different from being a slacker! When my mom visits, she is amazed at the amount of food I eat. A good food day looks something like this:

5:30 – 6 a.m. coffee

6:30 a.m. Breakfast – a cup of shredded wheat and Fiber One or oatmeal, old fashioned not instant, and a cup of skim milk

10 a.m. yogurt or some other lean protein and a big dish of raw veggies (about 2 cups)

12:15 p.m. Lunch – 3-4 oz. lean protein (sometimes on a sandwich), big salad, olive oil & vinegar, piece of fruit

3:00 p.m. piece of fresh fruit, couple pieces of low-fat string cheese

5:00 p.m. another piece of fresh fruit, maybe a little low-fat cottage cheese

6:30 or 7:00 p.m. Dinner – lean protein – chicken, beef, or pork about 4 oz., fish about 6 oz., cooked veggie and complex carbohydrate (brown rice, whole wheat couscous, bulgar, etc.), salad with olive oil and vinegar (or the dressing in the recipe section under categories). Essentially, I fill half my plate with veggies, add a quarter each of a protein and a carb, and serve a side salad.

8:00-8:30 p.m. One snack – FF popcorn, low-fat ice cream, cereal, yogurt, or equivalent

9:00 p.m. – Kitchen closed. Stay the hell out!

Several times a week I plan “treats” to keep me from feeling deprived. It helps to practice delayed gratification and keeps me motivated. Most of the time I try to eat foods in their natural state. I find them intensely more filling, thus I feel satisfied longer. Notice that I eat something every couple of hours. I plan it this way. If I wing it too often or wait too long, I run the risk of making poor choices. This plan may not work for everyone, but it is sustainable for me.

We celebrated a birthday at the office the other day, and I indulged in a piece of cake. It was 3:00 p.m. which fit perfectly into my afternoon preschool snack schedule. I enjoyed the cake, and I really didn’t want any more, but by 3:30 I wanted to gnaw my arm off. I probably consumed at least 400 calories in the cake, but I was still hungry. What the hell? Talk about not being fair! For the same calories, I could have eaten six pieces of fruit, or I could have feasted on a scrambled egg, light English muffin with a slice of Canadian bacon AND a cup of skim milk – an entire freaking meal!

I don’t begrudge the cake. I like to eat it once in a while, but I find more satisfaction from healthy alternatives. It takes a while to learn this because I really think sugar has an intense hold on most of us, increasing our appetite which has the potential of setting a vicious cycle in motion.

A little prevention and planning go a long way. When I keep my head screwed on tight with a little exercise and healthy food, I can usually withstand the momentary urges to eat entire villages.

When I mindfully practice life, it progresses fairly smoothly.

Leave a Reply

