• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Create a Week in Seven Days

I recently made a commitment that I was going to practice life in seven day increments. Huh? That’s not much of a stretch since each of us wakes up seven days every week! Just hang on a second…

When I lost weight in the late 80s, I played numerous mind games and stumbled upon some really weird eating habits. Big surprise, I didn’t keep the weight off for very long. During this last passage, I promised myself honesty and accountability, mysteriously enough, the playoffs subsided. Eureka! I dropped the pounds and developed a maintenance plan; however, within the past couple months I made the executive decision to adopt a shorter week.

Time passed something like this: I weighed on Saturday, so nothing I ate the rest of the day really counted because it fell in no-man’s land…not part of this week, but not quite next week either. While this embarrasses me to admit, I’m confident I’m not the only one out there giving herself a “free day” on occasion. Hell, I know people who live by that rule, and it seems plausible for them, not so much for me.

It may work if it lasted only one day, but by Sunday, I craved sugar so badly that I needed to indulge in a little something or I was going to have to kill someone, let’s say, my husband! Then Monday rolled around, and after two days of pouring sugar down my throat, I needed a pick-me-up to get my week started on the right track. That left me with only four days providing I actually hoisted my dimply ass back on the wagon on Tuesday to repair the damage I did in the previous three days.

In order to maintain, this “strategy” required me to play the role of perfect “dieter” the rest of the week until I hopped on the scale again on Saturday. This self-inflicted yo-yo relegated me to constant chaos. While I may not like the fact that I need to make conscious decisions about my food intake, it is what it is.

I must make some long-term changes that I can incorporate in my life forever! That is the only way I will escape the diet mentality. My goal is to behave in such a way that encourages a healthy lifestyle. Sure I’ll have some ups and downs to navigate, but that is very different than existing in the world of perfection or sloth-dom.

This week I’m practicing portion control, and even planning small treats throughout my week. Making responsible decisions put me in a comfortable position to take pleasure in my food choices – no guilt. The past two nights I enjoyed chocolate ice cream. Did you know that a half-gallon of ice cream actually contains 16 servings? I found that unbelievable, but I also rediscovered I can eat a half-cup of ice cream and be content. Sure, I would rather devour half the container, but would that leave me eight times as satisfied? What do you think?

One Response

  1. Like you, my ice cream containers only have one or two servings {hangs head in shame}. Most of the time I exercise the will power to avoid bringing ice cream home, but when I do… Shazaam!!!! Gone in a flash…. 😦

Leave a Reply

