• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Shhh, Can You Hear That?

My little wintery respite is almost over as I head back to work on Monday. I feel guilty complaining about my job because I have a pretty good one so I won’t even go there. Mostly, I miss my time at home. I thoroughly enjoyed my days as a stay-at-home mom, and being home now is even better because the house is silent and there are no diapers to change.

Before I lost weight I didn’t stop long enough to hear the stillness, and I ran from alone time. I think I feared what it might tell me. If I wasn’t hiding beneath my invisibility cloak, I shrouded myself in denial about what I needed in order to alter my situation. I certainly wasn’t going to slow down long enough for the possibility of insight to find me.

I treasure the silence now. Those who know me may find this hysterical given the fact that I am about as loud as they come; however, the quiet brings understanding. When my mind is calm, I find the path I need to follow.

Sometimes I don’t want to listen, and I shove carbs at the quiet. This used to work quite well, but I guess that’s how I found myself 100 pounds overweight contemplating the benefits of Hawaiian print muumuus. I know now the hunt for white flour and chocolate chips is generally my flashing neon sign telling me a new idea is trying to present itself.

New equals transition and as I’ve shared, I don’t always embrace change. It makes me uncomfortable and vulnerable. I want to be the independent “go-to” girl so I squirm when I‘m forced to admit I don’t know something, or worse yet I may need a little help.

This journey continues to show me that openness to new experiences expands my existence. So what if I feel an occasional prickle veering from of my comfort zone? I have a limited time on this earth, and I want to be an active participant. I learned being alone is not the same as being lonely.

What can you do to embrace the quiet?

Leave a Reply

