• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Ringing in the New Year

I went to the New Year’s Eve party last night, and I totally rocked! It felt wonderful to make good food choices and enjoy the celebration without wallowing in food.

It reinforces the idea that honest planning works. I’ve known for a very long time that it was important, and I pretended to actually do it on occasion; however, the difference last night was that it was well-thought out and realistic. It provided a great roadmap for my actions.

I think about this concept as I contemplate the New Year. While I don’t want to get hung up on New Year’s resolutions that aren’t within my reach, I think it is important to set goals. Sitting and thinking about what I want is not the same thing as planning.

It may sound juvenile, but I wrote what I hope to achieve on a greeting card to myself, and I plan to keep it on my dresser. I may not hit the mark of perfection on each of the items, but how am I going to even come close unless I can remember what I want to accomplish?

Here are a few of the things I plan to work on in the coming year:

I want to take care of myself emotionally and physically. I think I have a handle on this, but I must remind myself that I need to be a priority in my own life. It sounds simplistic, but do you come first, or even in the top three?

I want to cut the five pound yo-yo string this year, and I also recognize the value of my mental image and physical appearance being one and the same. This still challenges me.

I want to practice thinking before I speak. I maintain an adequate filter with most people in my life, but my family doesn’t always witness me at my best, or remotely close to it. I think they may settle for fewer appearances of crazy Melissa!

I want to research a trip to Italy. I don’t know when I will get there or how I’m going to do it, but I need to at least begin the planning process.

I feel good about the coming year. I’m blessed with great family and friends, and I’m open to the new experiences that are bound to present themselves.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

