• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Enjoy the Ride

Vermont was beautiful and the family visit in Connecticut was just what I needed, but it’s great to be home!

I’m happy that Lyle and Russell had such a good time skiing in Vermont, but it was not the vacation of my dreams. Lyle would say I’m just complaining since the trip wasn’t all about me…that is definitely true. In Lyle’s defense, I told him to plan the trip he needed to have fun for skiing, and that’s what he did. I guess I just like to THINK I’m self-sacrificing.

When I lost weight, I discovered the importance of putting my needs first. I must make good food choices and incorporate exercise into my life. I make ME a priority. I still take care of my family, but I have to say that I’m quite fond of new selfish side, and I think I might like to extend it toward vacations as well.

There’s a reason that couples take separate excursions, and it has nothing to do with love or commitment. I thoroughly enjoy my time with Lyle, but the mere definition of vacation indicates recreation and the absence of work. I’m glad Lyle found respite from his job as he skied down the snowy slopes in Vermont. He works hard and he deserves a break; however, I didn’t experience the same escape. I know this will sound completely unappreciative and bitchy, but mostly I cooked and cleaned in a less convenient setting than home, albeit a prettier landscape.

Don’t get me wrong, I totally appreciate Vermont. It is spectacularly beautiful, and I definitely want to revisit; however, I have a couple conditions before I consider a return engagement. One, I don’t want to plan and prepare the meals for anyone, even myself. I don’t have to dine out in five-star restaurants, but I want to enjoy leisurely meals that someone besides Mamma Fast cooks. Two, doing laundry is contraindicated with vacation. I can concede if absolutely necessary, but only if that is the extent of domestic duties. Princess really likes hotels; condos are manageable, but they entail too many of the comforts of home – the cooking, cleaning and laundry part!

I discovered that I really do like to include exercise into vacation plans. It’s not because I enjoy the burn, get real. It’s due to the fact that I like to eat, and I do more of it on vacation. I didn’t mind the half-mile hike to the workout facility in freezing conditions. It still surprises me that I showed such dedication, and I think I deserve a pat on the back for that. The idea of combining a morning workout with long walks on a sunny warm beach sounds even more appealing!

Better yet, I envision some retail therapy in New York preceded by a spa visit complete with massage, manicure and pedicure. Dinner and a show afterward would make for a perfect day. I could hit some museums one day and then head for some lovely out of the way boutiques. Lyle would rather get a root canal than endure any part of this imaginary expedition.

I think our compromise involves warm weather retreats. We both like the beach. I don’t feel the need to do anything special…just play in the water and walk along the sandy coastline. That, we can both handle. Life is full of compromise whether it involves vacations, food choices or exercise plans. I guess the most important thing is to enjoy the ride!

Cheers!

2 Responses

  1. That is dead on!!! Way too often the rest of the family fails to realized that a vacation for YOU means no cooking, cleaning or laundry. Hello….that’s what moms have to do all the time. I do not believe that to be at all selfish. If you don’t put yourself first how on earth are you going to be able to give your best to your family if you aren’t your best??

    Personally, I don’t cook. Not that I can’t, I could, not really well. Anyway…..a loaf of bread, full grain, preferably with nuts in it, a jar of crunchy peanut butter, and for variety both grape and strawberry jelly. Perfect for breakfast, lunch and dinner!!!

    As for laundry, there is a post it note on my washer with instructions on how to operate it. If your clothes are dirty and you can read, then I suggest you do something about it. 🙂 hehe

  2. I may have to steal your sign idea about the washer! Actually the men in my house (2:1 here) are pretty good. It took some training, but I can’t complain a lot…I just don’t like to be the one to organize the process. The post-it might be a great reminder! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

