• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Don’t Give Me That Baloney

Everything was progressing nicely, and I was quite pleased that I actually dropped a few pounds in preparation for all the holiday food fests. I managed to track my food choices and felt in control, but I let my guard down and had a brain fart last night at 11:34pm.

Lyle came home with a load of stuff from Christmas shopping and a run to a local Amish market. As I unpacked the bag full of sliced cheese and bologna, I felt an overwhelming urge to fry a piece of the greasy little sausage. I can’t remember the last time I ate a fried bologna sandwich oozing with melted Swiss cheese. By 11:47pm, I sat down to a sandwich complete with thick slices of home baked white bread and devoured my transgression. I never eat at midnight. What the hell came over me?

If I had only gone to bed before Lyle arrived from his late night shopping expedition, I could have saved myself so much grief. I don’t do my best thinking in the evening hours, let alone when it is past my bedtime. I’m old, and my internal controls shut down. It is no coincidence that the kitchen closes at 9pm!

I calculated the calories/points of my late night rendezvous, and I would likely need to run a 5K to burn off that one sandwich and chips. Oh yea, I also had some chips. What sandwich is complete without Frito Lay? That’s the bad news. The good news is that I actually know how much I ate and took responsibility for my actions. I may have eaten the bologna, but I didn’t feed myself any baloney.

I made an unwise food choice. It wasn’t my first, and I’m fairly confident it won’t be my last. I talked myself away from the ledge, brushed my teeth and went to bed. Last night was a great reminder that I need to be diligent in my efforts. This weight loss gig is challenging at times, and I doubt it will ever be second nature because I’m human with all of the faults that entails.

Today is another day. I began by putting healthy food in my body, and I’ll be careful to ensure level-headed choices keep me satisfied during the day. I refuse to feel guilty about this indiscretion. Negativity only brings more of the same. One imprudent action does not negate weeks of good decision making. Instead, I choose to move forward.

The plan is simple. I will eat wholesome filling foods today, and for the rest of the week. I will continue to take care by treating myself with respect. I deserve to feel good about myself and the choices I make along the way. This journey will take me for a lot of twists and turns, and I’m in it for the long haul and I’m game for the ride.

A fresh start is better than a brand new day because I have the wisdom from where I came.

Leave a Reply

