• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Truth vs. White Lies

I felt like I had a pretty good week…nothing perfect, but I made progress. My clothes seemed much roomier, I kept a food journal, and I increased my exercise. I even pulled on a pair of pants which recently caused me quite a bit of breathing difficulty if you get my drift. So, what’s my problem?

I stepped on the scale this morning, and it had the audacity to say I was up point eight. Shit! Motivated Melissa knows just what to say…I’m taking the steps necessary to maintain my health; I’m moving in the right direction because my clothes feel better than they have in months; occasionally water retention plays a factor with the NUMBER; don’t worry, sometimes it takes a week or two for the number to actually reflect the progress. Yes, that’s confident Melissa. Blah, blah, blah! Two-year-old Missy wants a freaking Peanut Buster Parfait!

I refuse to give in, but I need to come up with a plan and quick. I think my rating system may have played a bigger factor this week than what I originally thought. The white lies and the creative accounting have got to go. This week I commit to pull out those damn measuring cups and spoons. A half-full bowl is not equal to a one-cup serving, particularly if it has a three quart capacity. I’m no math genius, but I may be on to something here. Sometimes I really hate logic and reality!

Perhaps the scale is not the problem, but the person stepping on it. When I fail to be completely honest with myself, I find myself disagreeing with the number that pops up on that digital torture inducing gadget. However, it isn’t rational to be angry at an inanimate object. As I reflect, I see areas which require improvement.

Having said that, it is important to acknowledge non-scale victories. My clothes do fit better, and I definitely like the way I feel as I increase my exercise. Recognizing this is imperative to long-term success, and I cannot let the scale be the only thing that drives my behavior. However, I also realize when I get a little sloppy and tell myself a few half-truths, that messes with my head more than the Peanut Buster Parfait.

So, this week my plan is this…accurate tracking and portion control. If I expect honest feedback at the scale, I must live in the land of reality. As I practice truly responsible behavior, the scale will eventually move in the direction that pleases me.

Leave a Reply

