• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Do Not Pass Go, Do Not Collect $200

Do you ever spontaneously feel like you want to rob a donut shop or raid an ice cream truck? I’m not always sure why my resolve holds strong some days, but it’s non-existent at other times. I’m well aware that I am an emotional eater, but occasionally these kinds of moments seem to appear from nowhere.

I woke this morning and everything was great. I ate a solid breakfast before I ran some errands, and I even enjoyed a healthy lunch with friends; however, as I drove home, I wanted to knock over a Dairy Queen or Tim Horton’s. I couldn’t shake the feeling, and it caught me totally by surprise. Once upon a time, bingeing seemed quite compatible behind the wheel of my car. I could munch my way down the road without anyone even knowing or even having to admit it to myself. A lot of temptations exist in a city from fast food joints to convenient stores, and there are countless places where anonymity reigns supreme. I could stop by multiple places for something to eat and discard any remnants before I reached my final destination.

Most days the idea of eating and driving no longer co-exist in my world, but once in a while it is all I can muster to drive past these old haunts. Sometimes when the urges hit me now, I try to talk myself off the ledge. This is all fine and dandy until a passerby watches me scream at the invisible passenger in my car, but quite frankly I don’t care what they think. Sometimes it’s a matter of survival.

Prevention is the key and I must acknowledge the feeling at that particular moment. Am I really hungry or will a piece of sugar-free gum buy me some time until the urge passes? I managed to resist the temptation today – even the bakery with the 12-foot cream-filled donuts with chocolate frosting. Something told me that it was not a good day to indulge; however, it was important to get a quick snack. Protein tends to be my lifesaver most days, and right now I’m particularly fond of nonfat lattes. The combination of skim milk and hot coffee is a perfect little treat. To be successful in this journey, it is necessary to feel satisfied, and that differs from person to person and even from one situation to the next.

I came home this afternoon and breathed a sigh of relief. I decided to make a huge pot of chili, and I knew this comfort food would hit the spot! Check out the recipe on the sidebar. I think it is the first time in my life, I’ve ever measured ingredients for chili, but I wanted to share it with you. It is a hearty meal, and everyone who has ever eaten it wants the recipe. I hope you enjoy it.

One Response

  1. I thought I was the only one that after a big meal, even wanted more. At least I’m not alone. Good job at passing things by. Wonder what you were really hungry for.

Leave a Reply

