• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

The Arm Can Stay

For the last three days, I have been ravenous, and it’s difficult to make good food choices. Tonight when I drove home from work, I thought I might gnaw off my arm before I walked through my front door. I was a little worried about dinner prospects because I didn’t plan anything this morning, and more than half of a cold pizza lay waiting in the fridge.

I managed to snarf down a low-fat cheese stick on the way home and a half cup of shrimp that I didn’t get a chance to eat at work. I felt like I might just make it; however, my mind was still a bit twisted. I promised myself as soon as I walked through the door, I would change into sweats and go ride my stationary bike. The litany of excuses began running through my head with, “it’s so dark and cold,” at the top of the list. Suck it up Melissa.

Thankfully another voice reminded me that if I skipped the workout tonight and chose to devour the pizza, I might just head into the black hole before I even looked at the first candied yam or piece of pumpkin pie on Thursday. I didn’t enjoy this evening’s workout, but I did successfully cross it off my to do list.

I wasn’t home free after exercise, I still contemplated the pizza. Why didn’t my hubby and son polish it off? I even thought about a toasted peanut butter/Nutella banana sandwich…great comfort food. Instead, I made a huge tossed salad. I mixed some albacore tuna with a little mayo, Dijon mustard and dill relish. I piled it high on an Arnold Sandwich Thin. If you haven’t tried these, they are quite tasty. Each little bun has 100 calories, 1 gram of fat and a whopping 6 grams of fiber. Toasted, they are a bit reminiscent of a bagel. I threw the meal together in less than 10 minutes which is probably the only thing that saved my arm.

I won’t be online again until late Thursday so I’ll update you about T-Day then. In the meantime, stay strong, and remember the celebration doesn’t need to be all about the food. Maybe your destiny is the family photographer. Besides, if you carry a camera around all afternoon, you can’t hold a fork and a plate at the same time…just a thought. Whatever you decide, don’t just hang out in the kitchen for grins and giggles. Trouble lurks there. Enjoy and be gentle with yourself.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

